## Minutes of the 36th Annual NFRBMEA Business Meeting

June 16, 2021 ● Meeting Conducted In-Person and via Zoom

Called to order at 3:20 pm on June 16th

Meeting attendees: Pauline A Van Nurden, Myron Oftedahl, Tina LeBrun, Jennifer Smith, Keith Olander, Sara Maass-Pate, Jay Olsen, Don Roberts, Kara Wulfekuhle, Tom Weygandt, Lori Tonak, Bruce Fowler, Jeff Schultz, Ron Dvergsten, Wayne Pike, Jason Schroeder, Debra Pike, Deron Erickson, Don Hagen, David Gillman.

Motion to approve agenda by Keith Olander, second by Sarah Maass-Pate (WI), motion passed.

Secretary's report presented in annual report as written, and summarized by Jennifer Smith. Motion to approve secretary's report by Lori Tonak, second by Myron Oftedahl, motion passed.

Treasurer's report given by Kara Wulfekuhle, presented from the print version in annual report. Kara reviewed balance sheet and profit & loss and 2021-2021 budget vs actual. Conference revenue was actually \$3442.00 from virtual conference but did not get into the 2020-2021 fiscal year, so that deposit will show up in the 2021-2022 income. Kara reviewed the proposed budget on page 28 of annual report. Motion to approve Treasurer's report (all items presented) by Don Roberts, second by Tina LeBrun. Motion passed.

Secretary Jennifer Smith asked for the Roll call of states. States that shared a report were South Dakota, Colorado, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota, Utah, and Wisconsin.

Pauline Van Nurden shared Will Walters' thank you letter for his award received last year.

Debra Pike shared Communications Director's report, membership report ended with 80 members (70 regular and 10 affiliates), 2 less members than the previous year. New dues have started to arrive. You will receive a new membership card this year when you pay your dues. Card will have date paid, amount paid, and when they are due next. Deb explained how to renew membership if dues haven't been paid yet. Sent out four Nuts & Bolts this year. Some postings to Twitter and social media, two job postings on NFRBMEA website currently. Motion to approve communication director report by Jennifer Smith, second by Keith Olander. Motion passed.

Officer nominations Deron Erickson for National Council Representative, Jeff Schultz for Treasurer, Jennifer Smith for Secretary, Tina LeBrun for President Elect. Deron Erickson and Jeff Schultz both shared why they are interested in serving on the board as well as personal & professional background. Myron Oftedahl made a motion to make a unanimous ballet, Keith Olander seconded. Motion passed. The new officers are: President: Myron Oftedahl

President Elect: Tina LeBrun Treasurer: Jeff Schultz Secretary: Jennifer Smith

National Council Representative: Deron Erickson

Sponsorship chair position is now open. We will need a person to do this position.

Jennifer Smith handed out retiring officer plaques to Myron Oftedahl for Treasurer, Pauline Van Nurden for President. Retiring officers recognized virtually were Lori Tonak for National Council Representative, Kara Wulfekuhle for Treasurer, and Brad Sirianni for President. The virtual retirees will receive plaques in person at a later date.

Keith Olander made motion to accept Pauline's President report, second by Tina Lebrun. Motion passed.

Myron Oftedahl presented Award of Appreciation to Bob Rhea. Bob Rhea shared a thank you speech for his award.

Motion by Myron Oftedahl, second by Jay Olson to accept the Conference Sponsorship Report by Tina LeBrun. Motion carried.

Motion by Keith Olander, second by Sarah Maass-Pate to accept the National Council Report by Lori Tonak. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on the 2021 Conference, comments were good for both virtual and in person. It was an early start for Utah on the virtual.

Myron Oftedahl introduced the 2022 Conference that will be held in Fort Collins, Colorado with Extension being the lead for planning.

The 2023 Conference may be in Michigan with NAFBAS as lead planner. 2024 Conference will be NFRBMEA's responsibility.

Myron Oftedahl moved to add the filing notifications with the Secretary of State to the Treasurer's duties in the by-laws. Second by Tina LeBrun, motion carried.

With no further business, Pauline Van Nurden passed the gavel to Myron Oftedahl and Myron Oftedahl adjourned the meeting.

Motion to adjourn by Tina LeBrun, second by Sara Maass-Pate. Meeting adjourned at 4:33.

Respectfully submitted by,

Jennifer Smith, NFRBMEA Secretary