## 29th Annual NFRBMEA Business Meeting

June 9 & 11, 2014, Salt Lake City, UT

President Holkup called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Pat Harrington, seconded by Ron Smithberg. Motion carried.

The minutes of the 2013 business meeting were available to members in the 2013-14 Annual Report. Jack LaValla moved to approve, Gary Thome seconded.

Treasurer Myron Oftedahl presented the NFRBMEA financial status by leading those in attendance through the Financial Statements. Upon year-end March 31, 2014, the organization had an equity balance of \$28,957. The fiscal year '13-'14 showed a net operating loss of \$9156. The proposed '14-'15 budget projecting a \$3,650 loss was reviewed. After much discussion of multiple ways to increase revenue being suggested, a motion to approve the Treasurer's report was made by Josh Tjosaas, seconded by Jay Olsen. Motion carried.

Jim Kelm moved to eliminate the affiliate membership classification, thus creating one membership structure. Lance Brower seconded the motion. Jennifer Smith moved to amend the motion to allow the current prepaid affiliate members to retain their status, Ira Beckman seconded the motion. Motion carried. The initial motion was then approved.

Ira Beckman moved to set the membership dues at \$60, Lori Tonak seconded. Discussion was held with excellent participation from the group. Ron Smithberg moved to amend the motion to \$80/membership, Sonja Flaagan seconded. The amendment failed. The original motion for \$60 dues carried.

Discussion was held as to why some NFRBMEA association members do not attend the conference. Keith Torgerson moved to direct the board to survey the non-attendees to obtain the reasons that they did not attend, Lori Tonak seconded. Motion carried.

Secretary Walter led the Roll Call of States. The written reports were in the Annual Report and representatives present gave a brief overview of their state's program.

Past President Doug Wertish presented nominations for the following officer positions: President, Jim McCuistion; President-elect, Will Walter; Secretary, Rodney Armstrong; Treasurer, Myron Oftedahl; NCAE representative, Josh Tjosaas. The election will take place at the concluding session of the meeting on Wednesday.

At 5:00, President Holkup declared the meeting recessed to Wednesday.

The meeting reconvened at 4:00 p.m. June 11th.

Deb Pike gave the Communications Director's report. She stated that there are 82 active and 22 affiliate members that have paid dues for 2014. Deb also noted current FBM position openings, and refreshed members of the information available on the website throughout the year.

Doug Wertish presented the annual NFRBMEA report. Doug noted the \$10,000 CHS conference scholarship program this year. CHS wants to expand the program for next year. He reiterated the importance of maintaining and seeking new financial supporters for the conferences.

Jennifer Smith gave a report on the industry relations committee. The group recognized Jennifer Smith for her multiple years of efforts.

President Holkup reminded members of the 2015 Conference in Rochester, NY to be hosted by Illinois NAFBAS. The 2016 Conference is tentatively set for Sioux Falls, SD. The 2017 Conference will be hosted by the Iowa NAFBAS organization and be held in their state.

Election of Officers: Past President Wertish asked for further nominations from the floor. Pat Harrington moved to cease nominations, Wayne Pike seconded. Jack Lavalla moved to cast a unanimous ballot for the slate of officer candidates, Ira Beckman seconded. Motion carried. The officers for 2014-2015 will be: President Jim McCuistion, President-elect Will Walter, Past President Mark Holkup, Secretary Rodney Armstrong, Treasurer; Myron Oftedahl, and NCAE Representative Josh Tjosaas.

A Retiring Officer plaque was presented to Doug Wertish for his years of service to NFRBMEA. The group also recognized Past President Wertish for his service with a round of applause.

A motion to adjourn was made by Al Graner, Gary Thome seconded. Motion carried.

Will Walter

NFRBMEA Secretary