## **NFRBMEA Fall Board Meeting**

September 23, 2013 • Country Inn & Suites, Carter Lake, Iowa (Omaha)

The meeting was called to order by President Mark Holkup at 9:00 a.m.

Those present were Doug Wertish, Deb Pike, Myron Oftedahl, Mark Holkup, Will Walter, Jim McCuistion.

Reports of state FBM programs, of those represented by the board were given. Discussion was held on some programs decreasing, the necessity of state coordinators and with some FBM instructors going private, welcoming them to join or maintain membership to NFRBMEA.

Secretary Walter read the 2013 post-conference meeting minutes. A correction was noted that Ira Beckman serves on the National Council for Ag Education vs. IABME as previously stated. With the said correction, a motion was made by Jim McCuistion to approve the minutes, seconded by Myron Oftedahl. Motion carried.

The Treasurer's report was given by Myron Oftedahl. The checking account balance is \$1818. Discussion was held on the probable net loss from the 2013 Conference. Myron reported that \$3700 is committed to be collected yet. Reports were displayed from prior conferences, and reviewed by those in attendance.

Doug Wertish made a motion to approve, Jim McCuistion seconded. Motion carried.

Jennifer Smith joined the meeting at this time via conference call. Jennifer and Doug Wertish reported on discussions they have had from donors for the conference. One in particular, CHS, would like to see more multi-state recruitment and training of new FBM instructors. Implementation of this endeavor would likely require: a.) Procuring a PEP coordinator, b.) Assigning mentors to beginning instructors, c.) An educational program targeted at new instructors at the conference, as well as recruitment at Ag Education colleges & universities.

Deb Pike, Communications Director, gave a report on the updated website. It is a valuable tool for many resources as well as the Real-Time Update news release. We have 106 membership dues paid in the organization, with additional letters sent out to folks not attending the annual conference.

Jim McCuistion moved for adjournment, Myron Oftedahl seconded. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Will Walter