## Minutes of the 28<sup>th</sup> Annual NFRBMEA Business Meeting June 11 - 12, 2013 ◆ Overland Park, KS

President Doug Wertish called the meeting to order at 3:31 p.m. with 34 members present. Will Walter moved to accept present agenda. Gary Thome seconded the motion and it passed.

Keith Torgerson moved and Mark Holkup seconded to accept the minutes that were presented in the report and on the website. Motion passed.

The Treasurer's report will be postponed to later in the meeting.

Jim McCuistion asked for the Roll Call of States and 7 states presented reports with one report being sent from Pennsylvania by email. The reports presented were: Colorado-Jim McCuistion, Missouri-John Sponaugle, North Dakota-Keith Torgerson, Minnesota-Gene Kuntz, South Dakota-Jared Hofer, Utah-Jay Olsen, Wisconsin-Ed Ruff.

The Communications Director's report was given by Deb Pike. Membership was up from last year. She asked that all members update emails as needed. She is continuing to work on the redesign of the website. Deb is seeking articles to include in the RTU, and photos from the conference tours, events, etc.

A proposed item for by-law change was presented to the membership by the Board. Article VI, Sections 1, 2, 3 will be changed to read:

Section 1. Dues shall be set by membership vote at the annual business meeting.

Section 2. Fiscal Year: Shall be from April 1 through March 31

After discussion, a motion was entered by Jay Olsen and seconded by Keith Torgerson to accept the proposed change. Motion carried.

The Past Presidents' committee presented nominations of Will Walter for Secretary and Jim McCuistion for President-Elect. Jim Kelm moved to cease nominations and Gene Kuntz seconded the motion. Motion carried. Jack LaValla moved to cast a unanimous ballot and Gary Thome seconded the motion. Motion was carried to elect the two candidates.

Jay Olsen asked the members to look over the Annual Report that was distributed to everyone.

Jim Kelm addressed the group concerning the need for training and assistance for new members. He suggested that persons from each state present those needs to Doug Wertish or himself to be collaborated and presented to a possible sponsor. Dick Joerger related the CHS and John Deere presentations as an example that we need to address our mission to restarting the education of the new producers of the future.

Meeting was recessed at 4:37 pm.

Meeting resumed at 3:05 pm June 12, 2013. 22 members are present.

Myron Oftedahl went over the Treasurer's report included in the Annual Report. The requirement of the Board to make sure an audit is done annually was discussed. Myron stated that because of cost, an internal audit with one outside source was done this year, which is different than Vic doing it all these years. After discussion, Ron Dvergsten moved to have a committee of three appointed by the current

President and Treasurer to do the annual audit for the Association. It was seconded by Jay Olsen. More discussion was held and Ron amended his motion, seconded by Gary Thome, to have the Board appoint the audit committee. The amendment passed. The motion with amendment was then voted on and that motion failed. The Board, through the by-laws, is responsible for the audit of financial records but it does not say in what manner it must be done. The group agreed with the most recent method in which Myron obtained this year's audit. Ira moved to accept the Treasurer's report, subject to audit, and to add the affiliate dues calculation to the budget for this approval. It was seconded by Gary Thome and motion passed.

Jennifer Smith asked members to write thank yous to all of the fine sponsors that contributed to the Conference. Our major national sponsors were John Deere, CHS, and IABME, but she would like to see the membership send a thank you note to all of the sponsors who are listed in the Conference notebook. She would also recommend that members contact her if they know of any future sponsors. For next year's conference, Jay Olson has informed Jennifer of a previous sponsor that will possibly come back. They left 10 years ago because there were no thank you notes sent. Deb Pike will provide a printable address label file for sponsors on the website again this year. There was a suggestion that those labels might be included in the notebook next year.

Ira Beckman reported on the National Council and is very proud of the opportunity for NFRBMEA to hold a seat on this council. A secretary and an executive director were hired which has made the job easier for the directors. Ira will attend a couple of summits and meetings this year. Ira mentioned that he has been elected President of the National Council. This is quite an accomplishment for the representative of NFRBMEA to be an officer in this Council. Ira suggested that we be thinking of a replacement for him at the 2014 Conference, as his term expires at the end of 2014.

Doug reported that the 2013 Conference had 161 registrants: 43 NFRBMEA, 70 NAFBAS, and 49 Extension. There is a chance we will split approximately a \$6000 profit with NAFBAS.

Jay gave the tentative plans for the 2014 Conference to be held in Salt Lake City, Utah next June. He and his group from Utah collected a survey for the tours which will help them make some decisions.

Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Jim Kelm, Wayne Pike, and Jay D. Olsen. An Award of Appreciation was to presented Tom Weygandt, who was unable to be present, for his work as IABME Program Director, and Past President Jay D. Olsen received a Retiring Officer plaque. Applause was given to Doug Wertish for the fine job he did this year as President.

Doug Wertish formally announced the new officer slate for 2013-14. They are President- Mark Holkup, President-Elect- Jim McCuistion, Secretary- Will Walter, Treasurer- Myron Oftedahl, Past President- Doug Wertish, Communications Director- Deb Pike, National Council Representative- Ira Beckman, and 2014 Conference Chair- Jay Olsen.

Ira moved we adjourn. Gary Thome seconded the motion and it passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Jim McCuistion NFRBMEA Secretary