## Minutes of the 26<sup>th</sup> Annual NFRBMEA Business Meeting June 14, 2011 Nashville, TN

President Al Graner called the meeting to order at 2:20 PM (34 members were present)

The agenda was presented and Jim McCuistion said the minutes from last year's annual meeting are in the annual report and on the website.

Myron Oftedahl presented the Treasurer's report and explained that the Association could break even or show a loss this year, which may warrant them using some of the savings account money. Rick Morgan made a motion to accept the Treasurer's report and Tom seconded. Motion carried. After giving the Treasurer's Audit Report, Jay D. Olsen moved to accept the report. It was seconded by Tom Weygandt and motion was passed.

The Roll Call of States was taken by the Secretary and representatives from each state present gave an update of their challenges, progress, and overall situation. Reports were given from the following states: AZ, CO, MO, ND, OH, SD, UT, and WI.

Deb Pike gave the Communications Director's report stating as of March 31 there were 140 Regular members, 16 Affiliate members and one Honorary member. She reported on the different activities and events that happened during the year, and explained what information is available on the website. She invited members to send pictures of this year's Conference to add to the 2011 Conference Photo page. Rick Morgan moved to accept Deb's report. It was seconded by Mark Holkup and motion passed.

The Past Presidents presented a suggested list of officers for the 2011-12 year.

Jesse Schwanke nominated and Myron Oftedahl seconded the nomination for Jim McCuistion as Secretary. It was moved and seconded that unanimous ballot be cast. Motion carried.

Keith Olander nominated and Jay Olson seconded the nomination for Doug Wertish as President-Elect. It was moved and seconded that unanimous ballot be cast. Motion carried.

Ira Beckman was nominated by John Sponaugle and nomination was seconded by Jay Olson to be the Representative on the National Council. It was moved and seconded that unanimous ballot be cast. Motion carried.

Myron Oftedahl will be on his second year of a two-year term as Treasurer and Jay D. Olsen will automatically move up to the office of President from President-Elect.

A very appreciative presentation of the Distinguished Service Award was given to four members. John Sponaugle presented the award to Norman Rohrbach, Rick Morgan present the award to Greg Tullis, Al Graner will present Tom Hansen his DSA at a later date, and Ira Beckman presented the award to Deb Pike.

Past President Wayne Pike informed the members that the 2010-11 Annual Report had been compiled. He also gave the Resource Committee report.

Tom Weygandt gave the report on IABME and presented certificates to those persons who participated. Webinars and occasional regional meetings are held throughout the year as activities. New instructors should give their names to Tom so that he can enroll them in the program. Jim Kelm stated that the

relationships we have with CHS and other corporate sponsors are interested in developing new instructors for management instruction.

No report from Gary Thome on the Industry Relations/Alliances committee as listed in the agenda.

Ira Beckman gave a report on the National Council. They are hoping that the money they save by restructuring the representatives will allow them to hire a part-time executive secretary to help them implement some of the ideas they have. The National Council is working with the National FFA Association and the CASE curriculum for FFA related to green technology. They meet twice a year with many conference calls in between. The next meeting is in September at Starkville, MS.

The 2012 Conference will be held in Bloomington, MN and the 2013 Conference will most likely be held in Kansas (perhaps Kansas City).

Wayne Pike was presented with a plaque for Past President and his many years of dedication.

Greg Tullis to adjourn. The motion was seconded and passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jim McCuistion NFRBMEA Secretary