National Farm and Ranch Business Management Education Association Pre-Conference Board Meeting June 8, 2008 9:05 am PST

The meeting was called to order by President John Hobert at 9:14 AM

Members present were: President John Hobert

Pres. Elect/09 Chair Paul Gorman Past President Jav Olson Doug Wertish Treasurer Rick Morgan Secretary Historian/08 Co-chair Laurie Morris Membership Secretary Wayne Pike Webmaster Deb Pike 2008 Conf. Co-chair Pat Harrington 2008 Conf. Co-chair Lyle Stewart

The agenda was presented by John Hobert with no additions.

The secretary's report was sent out earlier via email by Morgan. There were no additions, motion by Harrington to approve the secretary's report, seconded by Wertish and the motion was approved.

The treasurer's report was presented by Doug Wertish. We have a checkbook balance of \$26,709.02. The revised 2008-09 budget was discussed. Doug also presented the extended 2009-10 budget. The Conference Account is going well with registrations. To date, the Conference checkbook balance is \$34,313.08.

Wertish did state that the registration process could be improved for next year.

Budgets are in our Annual Reports that will be distributed later in our conference.

Wayne Pike and Hobert discussed the drop in membership. Some of it is due to fewer FBM teachers and some drop is due to lower conference attendance.

Jay Olson discussed the approval of our Grant application to the Bremer Foundation. We were awarded \$140,000 over three years. This money will be given out over a three-year timeframe: \$60,000 the first year, \$45,000 the second year, and \$35,000 the third year. \$3000 per year will go to the Lake Region Foundation to administer the grant, \$40,000 over three years will go to the Coordinator and Jay discussed about \$15,000 to \$20,000 will go to bring less experienced instructors to our conference, plus a special day or two to help with their FBM skill level by offering workshops specifically for that group.

We may need to establish a job description of our proposed Coordinator so we can begin requesting applications. Hobert stated that MnSCU and the Minnesota State Supervisor Joerger wants to get more involved with this project.

Deb Pike reported on the Website and our Resource Library. There have been 13 new

submissions to the Resource Library in the last two weeks, and five of them have been posted. Deb will be creating two new pages for the Library: "Human Resources" and "Program Promotion", and the remaining submissions will be posted to those pages at that time. All Exhange of Ideas materials from 1999-2007 have been moved to the Resource Library. The Resources Committee is currently reviewing them and determining if any need updating or are otherwise no longer pertinent.

Harrington reported on the 2008 Conference.

Gorman mentioned that the planning is going well for the 2009 Conference in St. Louis. He may look at BioScience or The Farm Financial Task Force as possible themes for that conference.

Jay Olson discussed the proposal of Fargo-Moorhead for our 2010 Conference. He had been in contact with Dwight Aakre, the head of the North Central Extension Ag Economics about joining in with our two groups for a bigger attendance in 2010. Aakre is a staff member at NDSU, located in Fargo, ND.

Hobert discussed his success in fund raising for this Conference. His committee has brought in cash and in-kind donations just under \$27,000.

Olson also reported on the National Council. We may have to contribute more to that organization since our \$1200 fee does not cover all of his expenses getting to their meetings.

Gorman is still looking for a couple of more entries for our Exchange of Ideas Contest.

He also discussed the First-Timers' Scholarship. We have given away five \$100 stipends each year to first-time conference attendees, on a first come, first-served basis.

Retiring Officer plaques will go to Jay Olson and Laurie Morris. We reviewed those getting the Distinguished Service Awards. Distinguished Service Awards will be awarded to Loel Nelson, Larry Klingbeil, Tim Holtquist and Lyle Hermance. The DSA-Friend award will go to CaseIH.

Morris requested we ask each state representative name their retiring Instructors during the Roll Call of States.

The meeting adjourned for the day at 12:30 PM by President Hobert.

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Morgan, Secretary