National Farm and Ranch Business Management Education Association Conference Business Meeting-Rochester, MN Tuesday June 12, 2007 3:45pm CDT

The meeting was called to order by President Jay Olson at 3:50 PM

The Secretary's report was handed out in the NFRBMEA 2006-2007 Annual Report on pages 10 and 11. Motion by John Woodford to approve the secretary's report, seconded by Larry Klingbeil and the motion passed.

Treasurer's report was presented by Doug Wertish on pages 12-15 within the Annual Report. Motion by Al Graner to approve the Treasurer's report, seconded by Tom and the motion carried.

Vic Richardson reviewed the treasurer's audit report. He found no discrepancies.

President Jay Olson presented First-Timer's Scholarships to Jory Hansen, sponsored by Jay Olson; Rex Quam, sponsored by John Hobert; Mark Wehe, sponsored by Doug Wertish; Todd Stencel, sponsored by Paul Gorman and Zach Rada, sponsored by Tim Holtquist.

Secretary conducted the Roll Call of States:

North Dakota: presented by Al Graner, 14 programs, steady, declining Ag population.

Wisconsin: presented by Ed Ruff, Deans want to revitalize our programs.

South Dakota: presented by Calvin Pietz, two full-time instructors, problem with funding.

Arizona: presented by Pat Harrington, one full-time program/instructor, larger farms and more large dairy operations.

Iowa: presented by Harold Swanson, no programs

Colorado: presented by Jim McCuistion, Maylon Peters has retired, now 10 full time instructors with 522 students.

Missouri: presented by Norman Rohrbach, 20 programs with 24 part-time and full-time instructors. State has frozen funding until recently, now new monies for new programs.

Ohio: presented by Bruce Stauffer, 22 instructors at about 60% full-time. Funding is tight.

Oklahoma: presented by Everett Wollenberg. Change of leadership at the state level. 17 instructors and programs.

Minnesota: presented by Del Lecy, 78 instructors, 3500 students, we are close to seeing a new State Supervisor. The state received an Organic FBM grant, working on new benchmarking with FINBIN. 2300 farms are in our state database. Received help with recruitment.

We had no reports from: Pennsylvania, Utah, Montana and Oregon

Rich Baumann reported on the National Council (Team AgEd), he has a copy of the "2005-2006 Annual Report on Agricultural Education" for everyone in attendance. He also discussed his participation in the AAAE 2007 Conference in St. Paul this past May.

A Nuts & Bolts/Membership report was presented by Wayne Pike. We may look at more electronic mailing/website work.

Tim Holtquist reported on the National Council for AgEd and other items that were included in the 2006-07 Annual Report.

Officer Nominations for 2007-08, Tim Holtquist reported from the Past Presidents' committee the following: offices that are open are Secretary, nominated Rick Morgan. The office of president elect, nominated are Paul Gorman and Harry Gerdes. These nominees will be voted on Thursday when our business meeting reconvenes.

The business meeting was recessed at 4:48 pm to be reconvened on Thursday.

The following Standing Committees conducted short meetings:

- A. Resources-Deb Pike & Ron VanNurden
- B. Industry Relations-Ron Dvergsten & John Hobert
- C. National Institute-Tim Holtquist & Clark Hanson

Thursday, June 14, 2007 10:00 am CDT

The meeting was called to order by President Jay Olson at 10:25 am.

2009 Conference Update with Bob Rhea. We will pursue the St. Louis area. We will need to have a committee of three to work with NAFBAS three. The date is important since some high schools still are meeting at the current second week in June. NAFBAS will be the primary group for this conference.

Motion by Jim Kelm, second by Ron Dvergsten to have NAFBAS in charge for 2009, NFRBMEA in charge for 2010, motion passed.

Doug Wertish presented the 2007-2008 Budget and the 2008-2009 revised Extended Budget. Motion by Doug Wertish to approve the budgets, seconded by Ira Beckman, motion passed.

Laurie Morris gave the Historian's report. She gave an excellent presentation of past meetings and activities.

Jim Kelm and Gary Thome wrapped up the 2007 Conference Evaluation report.

Pat Harrington and Laurie Morris gave the 2008 Conference update. They will try to accommodate our tour requests. Their initial response from their surveys looks great for the possible attendance to Fresno, CA. Conference dates will be June 8-12, 2008.

Tim Holtquist and Dr. Clark Hanson gave the National Institute Report. He will still work on securing grants to fund our National Institute. John Hobert suggested looking at MAELC in Minnesota.

Jay Olson discussed the signing of our new MOU between NFRBMEA and NAFBAS for the 2009-2011.

John Hobert and Ron Dvergsten gave the Industry Relations Report. This is the group that secures the sponsors for our conferences and other activities. Hobert had sponsorship of around \$26,000 for our 2007 Conference. With in-kind contributions, this amounts to much more. Hobert suggested writing letters of appreciation to our sponsors for their sponsoring efforts.

Deb Pike and Ron VanNurden gave the Website/Resource Library report. Deb Pike said all the presentations given at the conference will appear on our website. Ron asked for contributions to our library.

Rich Baumann gave a report on the National Council. He again stated his term on the Council is up this year and is asking for a replacement. The <u>application is on our website</u>.

Gary Thome presented Rich Baumann the Distinguished Service Award.

Wayne Pike presented Ron VanNurden the Distinguished Service Award. Jim Kelm presented Doug Wertish the Distinguished Service Award.

Doug Wertish handed out the Conference Host Presentations.

Election of Officers. The office of Secretary had a nomination of Rick Morgan. No other names were added. Morgan won by unanimous ballot. Office of President Elect had two nominees, Harry Gerdes and Paul Gorman. Ballots were handed out and were voted on. The Past Presidents' committee tallied the vote and reported that Paul Gorman will be our new President Elect.

Conference Host Presentations

Jay Olson presented a Retiring Officer Plaque to Tim Holtquist.

Retiring President remarks were given by Jay Olson.

John Hobert gave the new president remarks. He stated the challenges and opportunities he sees as he begins his term.

Meeting was adjourned at 11:47 am.