Minutes of the NFRBMEA 21st Annual Business Meeting June 6 & 8, 2006 Omaha, Nebraska

The meeting was called to order at 3:45 p.m. CDT by President Tim Holtquist.

The First Timers were introduced and asked to stand. They were Pauline Van Nurden (MN), Bob Stommes (MN), and Myron Oftedahl (MN).

Luke Baker presented the Secretary's report. Pat Harrington moved to accept the Secretary's minutes, Rick Morgan seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Luke Baker moderated the Roll Call of States.

Ron Dvergsten gave the Nominating Committee Report. The following individuals were nominated for officer positions: President Elect- John Hobert, Secretary- Rick Morgan, and Treasurer- Doug Wertish. A motion was made to accept officer slate. Motion seconded and passed.

John Woodford gave the Treasurer's Report. Motion made and carried to accept Treasurer's report. John then presented the proposed budget for 2007-08.

Wayne and Deb Pike gave a tag-team Webmaster, Membership Secretary, and NUTS & BOLTS Report. Deb reported 13,575 visitors to the Web and the Resource Library is now accessible online. More information on this will follow on Thursday. Wayne reported that 169 electronic and 13 paper copies of the spring issue were sent out, and he encouraged members to submit articles for upcoming issues.

Following a review of the 2006 Annual Report by Ron Dvergsten, Dr. Clark Hanson made a presentation on the status of the National Institute to the NFRBMEA membership.

The meeting then recessed until Thursday, June 8, 2006.

The meeting reconvened on Thursday, June 8. Forty-two members, including the Board, were present.

Conference Update for 2006 given by Jim Kelm. He felt that the overall concensus of the two organizations was that this conference was a good learning experience, and that future conferences should go better. A motion was made to accept his report. The motion was seconded and passed.

Vic Richardson stated that all Treasurer's reports followed GAAP and were correct.

The National Council report was given by Richard Baumann. He updated members on needs and benefits of being a part of The National Council, and urged members to consider being future member representative of The Council.

Gary Thome gave the 2007 Conference Welcome to Rochester, Minnesota, to be held June 11-14, 2007 at the Kahler Hotel. Bob Rhea of NAFBAS introduced Lynn Kopitzke, who will take part planning for 2007 Conference. Monday will have Early Bird program with educational sessions for early attendees.

2008 Conference update- a poll was taken to determine which location would be our most favorable location. The ballot vote indicated Fresno, California appeared to be preferred location.

Ron Dvergsten reported Cenex Harvest States sponsored the Nuts & Bolts and cosponsored the website. He explained what major companies are looking for to consider becoming a sponsor, and encouraged members to make contacts for sponsors and/or send information on leads to current board members

Committee Reports:

Clark Hanson updated members on the National Institute. He is working on a grant and he enjoyed being part of this conference.

Ron Van Nurden presented an update on the Resource Library. Deb Pike showed how to find the Library on our website, and how to document and submit information to the Resource Library. Exchange of Ideas from previous conferences will eventually be moved into the Resource Library.

A Distinguished Service Award was presented to Ron Dvergsten.

A Retiring Officer Plaque was presented to Tom Weygandt. He retired from office last year. Other retiring officers presented plaques were Charles Duell (Secretary 2004-06), John Woodford (Treasurer 2004-06), Luke Baker (Secretary 2005-06), and Ron Dvergsten (Out-going Past President (2005-06).

Retiring President Tim Holtquist gave his remarks, after which Ron Dvergsten presented the slate of officer nominees: John Hobert- President Elect, Rick Morgan- Secretary, and Doug Wertish- Treasurer. Motion made by Maylon Peters and seconded by John Woodford to accept nominations. The motion unanimously passed.

An award of appreciation was presented to Doug Wertish and Lori Brendemuehl for their efforts in ensuring the success of the Omaha conference.

The Historian's Report on this past year's activities were presented by Laurie Morris. Her report was appreciated and enjoyed by all. Kelly Annand put together and presented a slideshow.

Tim Holtquist welcomed Jay Olson to take over as current president, then Jay presented his opening remarks.

A drawing for Doorprizes was held, followed by an announcement of the Post-Conference Board meeting immediately following.

The meeting was adjourned.