2005 NFRBMEA Business Meeting Minutes Wooster, Ohio

The 2005 Business meeting of NFRBMEA was called to order by NFRBMEA President Ron Dvergsten at 10 a.m. on June 13, 2005 in Wooster, OH.

It was requested by President Dvergsten to proceed through the agenda with flexibility. The Conference planning committee and guests were introduced.

Secretary's Report:

Charles Duell reviewed the minutes of the 2004 business meeting with the membership. It was moved and seconded to accept the secretary's report. Motion carried.

Roll Call of States: NFRBMEA Secretary Charles Duell conducted the "Roll Call of States". 13 States and Provinces were recognized.

Bob Rhea, Executive Director of NAFBAS, brought greetings from his organization.

2006 Conference: Jim Kelm and Bob Rhea reviewed the schedule for the 2006 joint conference for NFRBMEA and NAFBAS. The conference is scheduled for June5-8, 2006 in Omaha, NE at the Doubletree Hotel. Jim and Bob encourages all in attendance to plan on taking in next years conference.

Nominating Committee Report:

Tom Weygandt, NFRBMEA Past-President, gave the nominating committee report.

Jay Olson from North Dakota has been slated for President-Elect.

Luke Baker from Ohio has slated for Secretary.

It was moved and seconded to accept the nominating committee report. Motion carried.

National Council for AgEd Award:

President Dvergsten presented Gary Thome a recognition plaque from "The Council" for his 3 years of membership on the council.

Distinguished Service Awards:

DSAs were presented to Tom Weygandt, Gary Thome and Robert Roesler.

Treasurer's Report:

Treasurer, John Woodford gave the treasurers report. It was moved and seconded to accept the treasurer's report. Motion carried.

Wayne and Deb Pike gave an update on activities occurring with the Nuts and Bolts Newsletter and the website.

Wayne followed up with the membership secretary report.

NFRBMEA National Council member, Rich Baumann reported on activities and projects of the Ag Ed Council.

New Business: There were no new business items at this year's meeting.

The meeting recessed until June 16, 2005.

President Dvergsten reconvened the business meeting at 9:30a.m on June 16, 2005.

Lauie Morris gave the Historian's report which included a presentation of 2005 conference highlights.

Election of Officers:

Tom Weygandt conducted the election of officers. It was moved and seconded to cast a unanimous ballot for Jay Olson for President-Elect and Luke Baker for secretary. Motion carried. Congratulations Jay and Luke.

Committee Reports:

President-Elect Tim Holtquist assumed the chair to conduct the committee reports. The following committee reports were presented: Audit report, Resources committee, National Institute, and Industry Relations/Alliances. Committee reports were approved as presented.

Tom Weygandt reviewed the 2004-2005 Annual Report for NFRBMEA which he prepared.

2007 Conference Report:

Gary Thome reported that the 2007 conference which will be a joint conference with NASFAS and the North central Extension Economists groups. Conference dates are June 11-14, 2007 at the Kahler Hotel in Rochester, MN.

Conference Host Recognition:

The Ohio Conference Planning committee was recognized for putting on an excellent conference. Treasurer, John Woodford, presented gifts to Tom and Elaine Weygandt and Luke Baker for the countless hours in planning the conference.

President Dvergsten gave his retiring remarks and then introduced the NFRBMEA officers for 2005-06.

Officers for 2005-06 are as follows:

President: Tim Holtquist President Elect: Jay Olson Past-President: Ron Dvergsten

Secretary: Luke Baker Treasurer: John Woodford

The gavel was transferred to incoming President Tim Holtquist. Tim gave some comments to the membership.

President Holtquist entertained a motion to adjourn at 11:30 a.m. A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the 2005 business meeting. Motion carried.

Door prizes were distributed.