

National Farm and Ranch Business Management Education Association, Inc.

17th Annual Association Business Meeting

Owatonna, Minnesota June 10 and 13, 2002

The 17th Annual Business meeting of the National Farm & Ranch Business Management Education Association, Inc. (NFRBMEA) was held on Monday June 10, 2002 at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Owatonna, MN. President Ira Beckman called the first session to order at 8:26 am.

Beckman announced an agenda change to include the introduction of the Annual Report by Lynn Schluckebier. He then introduced the NFRBMEA Board of Directors.

Tom Weygandt gave the Secretary's report. Minutes from all Board meetings during the year as well as last year's Annual Meeting were available for the membership. Lynn Schluckebier moved that the minutes be approved. Norm Bohmbach seconded. Motion passed.

Weygandt led the Roll Call of States. He reported that 10 states with 93 registered instructors were present. A representative from each state gave a very brief statement. More complete reports are available in the conference proceedings.

Conference Chair, Larry Oraskovich, held an Early Bird Registration drawing. Winning prizes were: Donald Hagen for registering by April 1st and John Gintner for registering by May 1st.

Chuck Stranberg gave welcoming remarks representing the National Association of Agricultural Educators (NAAE). He reported that the NFRBMEA Board had asked him to investigate the possibility of NFRBMEA associating with Team Ag-Ed.

John Hobert, President of the Minnesota Association of Agricultural Educators, welcomed the members to Minnesota. He asked that Loel Gorden be recognized as he is retiring. Hobert also reported that the mentoring program in Minnesota is going well.

Beckman presented the Distinguished Service Award – Friend to Red Wing Business Systems. He then presented Distinguished Service Awards- Member to Maylon Peters and to Dwain Vangsness (as Dwain was absent this was presented to him several days later by Wayne Pike).

Don Roberts gave the Treasurer's report, subject to audit. He reported that the association had a net worth of \$14,431.21 and that the income statement had shown a loss of \$753.67 for the 2001-02 fiscal year. His report also included budgets for the 2002-03 and 2003-04 years. Lynn Schluckebier moved and Larry Oraskovich seconded that the report be accepted. Motion Passed.

Lynn Schluckebier gave the Nominating Committee report. Nominated for were: President Elect, Tom Weygandt; Secretary, Jay Olson and Charles Duell; Treasurer, Paul Gorman and Richard Baumann.

Lynn Schluckebier also reported for the Past Presidents' Committee that the committee had contacted Dr. Edgar Persons to create an Institute for New Teachers in support of the Board's goal to promote teacher retention. The committee will conduct fund raising for grants to pay for the Institute and perhaps for an Executive Director in the future.

Historian Laurie Morris gave a PowerPoint presentation on the first thirty years of the association.

President Ira Beckman reported that the Board had prioritized and identified goals for the future. Already underway are three Teacher Recruitment / Retention Taskforces under the leadership of various Board members. The Past Presidents' Committee will lead in fund raising. Beckman called for help and committee volunteers to work on the following new committees: Industry Connections & Alliances, Curriculum, and Membership Development. He challenged all members to give some time to these committees for the good of the association.

President Elect Jim Kelm called for committee reports. Gary Thome reported that the National Ag Ed Council was refocusing onto a think tank and leadership role.

At this time the meeting had a break to hear an address by U.S. Senator Mark Dayton.

Following Senator Dayton's remarks John Hobert, Entertainment Committee and "NFRBMEA Athletic Director", awarded prizes to the winners of the golf game held the previous evening.

Beckman recessed the meeting at 11:45 am.

President Ira Beckman called the meeting back to order on Thursday, June 13, 2002 at 10:55 am.

Lynn Schluckebier again presented the officer nominations and asked for additional nominations from the floor. Hearing none he declared nominations closed and proceeded to conduct a vote for the new officers.

Membership Secretary Wayne Pike reported that membership is up 37 this year to give NFRBMEA 240 members (223 regular members, 2 honorary, and 15 associate).

Deb Pike reported that the last issue of *NUTS & BOLTS* was sent to 211 members electronically and only 30 were sent by regular postal service. She said that feedback has been very positive and that she will continue the electronic transmission of the newsletter. Deb Pike also reported that the website has had 5,108 hits since its inception. She has created a job-posting page and intends to use .pdf file format more in the future.

Vic Richardson reported with verification by John Hobert that he had audited the NFRBMEA's books for the 2001 Conference and for the 2001-02 fiscal year. He found that GAAP principals had been used and everything to be in order.

Al Graner and several North Dakota teachers invited all to attend the 2003 Conference in Minot, ND June 8-12, 2003. Conference theme is "Reaching Beyond Our Borders".

Edmund Ruff presented Wisconsin's bid to host the 2004 Conference either at Wisconsin Dells or LaCrosse. John Sponaugle moved that Wisconsin's bid be accepted. Denny Jackson seconded. Motion passed.

Ira Beckman gave the retiring President's remarks. He congratulated the members who had volunteered to serve on committees. He said that new member development, industry connections, and sharing of curriculum will be the true way to help this organization to flourish. Following his remarks Lynn Schluckebier installed the new officers. Elected were: Tom Weygandt, President Elect; Jay Olson, Secretary; and Richard Bauman, Treasurer.

Larry Oraskovich recognized outgoing officers for outstanding service: Ira Beckman, President; Jim Kelm, President Elect; Don Roberts, Treasurer; and Tom Weygandt, Secretary.

Ira Beckman recognized and gave special thanks to the 2002 Conference hosts: the FBM staff of South Central Technical College. He offered special thanks to Larry Oraskovich, chairman; Doug Wertish, fund raising, and to Carolyn Masson for keeping everything running smoothly.

New President Jim Kelm presented the following assignments and challenges to the membership for the 2002-03 year:

- 1) Visit the website. This can be a valuable tool. The Board will try to create value there for the members. He would like to see 5,000 hits in the next year.
- 2) Continue networking. Email an instructor you don't normally work with on a regular basis.
- 3) Go home and talk to instructors that haven't been to a Conference and get them to Minot.
- 4) Come to Minot yourself.
- 5) Pick one of the three committees and work on it. Show your interest.

The time has come to implement the strategic planning!

Jim Kelm declared the meeting adjourned at 11:47am.

Respectfully submitted, Tom Weygandt, Secretary